Sequence Complete

In terms of fulfilling the project brief, I believe that I have achieved that in terms of developing a 30-second motion graphic that is engaging enough to an audience, whilst allowing myself to experiment and explore Adobe After Effects. Although with this being said I do feel as though there are aspects I could have ventured further into, such as that of secondary motion, even though I do enjoy the piece I have curated, I’m somewhat disappointed at the lack of secondary movement throughout the entirety of the project, this is something I will take into consideration in the future. However, on the contrary, I believe I succeeded in developing quite a lot of primary motion throughout the duration of my piece.

Following on, I find the colour scheme and overall aesthetic of my project appealing and interesting, therefore I believe this ticks the criteria for developing something which is both, functional in its ability to flow cohesively as one motion graphic and aesthetically pleasing enough to attract an audiences attention.

A big curveball was thrown at me throughout the production process of this project as I was unable to access my saved files due to technical issues, therefore meaning I was tasked with the fatal decision of waiting around or starting my project over, which I later opted for. From the time between the start of my initial project and the start of my second attempt, my skills and knowledge of how to navigate around After Effects had increased rapidly, therefore I was able to attack things in a new light!

Initially, I had attempted to develop a water droplet falling from the top of the frame and splashing upon hitting the bottom of the frame although I couldn’t quite get the seamless fluid motion of the droplet to blend into the next frame as nicely as I had pictured in my head, therefore when attempting the project for the second time the opening sequence took a majorly different turn.

I was more confident in my approach the second time around, having wrapped my head around the basics of keyframes and how they assisted in the development and flow of an object’s motion. With this being said I attempted to mimic the concept of someone writing the title “motion design” which took quite some time to master although I think this was a key development from my original project, it was more energetic and engaging, kicking off the entire motion with a little more flare.

In regard to technical application, over my years of study, I have learnt to adapt several fundamental techniques to assure the best outcome for my projects, such as white space, proportion, balance and so forth. However, I have never considered my work to be a moving piece, therefore with this being said, it was quite an interesting experience to see my design in motion, although this did in turn ad an additional challenge.

I am now able to look at particular designs in conjunction with another and imagine the fluidity of movement between the two and how this could be made achievable with the knowledge I have now acquired through undertaking this task. I am now able to look back at older projects in a new light and experiment with how they could further develop to become motion graphics rather than just still images.

One project that sparks up an idea in my mind, is a project I did last semester, which I submitted in the form of a booklet, although I made another copy of the images throughout the booklet as one cohesive piece. With the basic skills I’ve developed from this project I am very eager to experiment with this prior work, seeing if I can make certain aspects of the artwork move in a synchronised motion with one another.

A previous project I would like to animate.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started